Collodi
‘Pinocchio’s village’
Village of Pinocchio, the cautionary-tale character: his inventor Carlo Lorenzini became Carlo Collodi. The ‘big house’, Villa Garzoni, with 16thC gardens, avenues, stairways, statuary, springs and circular ponds in undulating parkland, has long attracted visitors. The park established in 1956 in honour of Pinocchio has however put it in the shade. Exciting for children, it is also no mean artistic experience. The metal sculptures and mosaics on the Collodi-Pinocchio theme were done by the greatest European artists. Open daily all year round, 8.30 am until sunset.
The old town of Pescia, 4 km east, was noted for growing and exporting flowers. Commerce is more mundane today, but lavish flower markets are still held in summer.
